RARE SUITE D'AUREI DE LA DYNASTIE DES ANTONINS

Lot 1
Aller au lot
40 000 - 50 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 49 400 EUR

RARE SUITE D'AUREI DE LA DYNASTIE DES ANTONINS

Bracelet composed of seven aurei of the dynasts of the Antonine family; Antoninus the pious (86/ R138-161 ) and his wife Faustina the ancient (100-140); Marcus Aurelius (121-R161-180) and his wife Faustina the young (120-175); Lucius Verus ( 130-R161-169) and his wife Lucilla (150- 182) and Commodus ( 161-R180-192).
Condition of the coins from APC to Sup, soldered on five points on the edge.
Yellow
gold case, modern setting of the second half of the XIXth century. (unsigned)
Weight 90,4 gr


Provenance and parallel
The seven coins were listed in the catalogue of the collection of Mr Auguste Racine published in 1877. Catalogue des Monnaies impériales Romaines et Byzantines composing the collection of Mr Auguste Racine (pp162 n°94, pp165 n°1013, pp167 n°1025,pp169 n°1035, pp171 n°1045 and n°1048, pp172 n°1053). In his letter to Mr Racine's descendants written on September 12, 1979, Mr Jean Vinchon states that the collection "greatly increased by the collector.
Eugène Fontenay, a 19th century jeweller is most certainly responsible for the creation of this piece. In Paris he inlaid coins, intaglios and antique cameos in his ornaments. The pine cones adorning the ankles are in line with the attribution to this famous jeweller. In 1887, in a very interesting technical and typological study on antique jewellery in "Les bijoux anciens et modernes", he revealed the origin of the inspiration of most of the great European jewellers.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

RARE SUITE D'AUREI DE LA DYNASTIE DES ANTONINS

Lot 1
Aller au lot
40 000 - 50 000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 49 400 EUR

RARE SUITE D'AUREI DE LA DYNASTIE DES ANTONINS

Bracelet composé de sept aurei des dynastes de la famille des Antonins ; Antonin le pieux (86/ R138-161 ) et son épouse Faustine l’ancienne (100-140) ; Marc Aurèle (121-R161-180) et son épouse Faustine la jeune (120-175) ; Lucius Verus ( 130-R161-169) et son épouse Lucilla (150- 182) et Commode ( 161-R180-192) .
Etat des monnaies de TTB à Sup , soudures sur cinq points sur la tranche.
Ecrin
Or jaune, monture moderne de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle. (non signé)
Poids 90,4 gr


Provenance et parallèle
Les sept pièces ont été répertoriées dans le catalogue de la collection de Monsieur Auguste racine paru en 1877. Catalogue des Monnaies impériales Romaines et Byzantines composant la collection de Mr Auguste Racine (pp162 n°94, pp165 n°1013, pp167 n°1025,pp169 n°1035, pp171 n°1045 et n°1048, pp172 n°1053). Dans sa lettre aux descendants de Mr Racine écrite le 12 septembre 1979, Monsieur Jean Vinchon stipule que la collection « grandement augmenté par le collectionneur.
Eugène Fontenay, joaillier du 19ème siècle est très certainement responsable de la création de cette pièce. A Paris il incérait des monnaies, des intailles et des camées antiques dans ses parures. Les pommes de pin ornant les chevilles vont dans le sens de l’attribution à ce célèbre bijoutier. En 1887, dans une très intéressante étude technique et typologique sur les bijoux Antiques dans « Les bijoux anciens et modernes », il dévoilera l’origine de l’inspiration de la plupart des grands joaillers européens.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue